A Love Song

By Vernon Scannell

  
I’ve always been in love with you I swear

‘Impossible,’ they say; yet it is true:

I speak with certainty, for I was there.

When I reeled groggy as the punchbowl air

Was spiced with melody I longed for you;

I’ve always been in love with you I swear.

My infant whispers to the beat-up bear

Were meant for you, the tears and kisses too;

I speak with certainty, for I was there.

Let experts, calendars and maps declare

I’m nuts or have at least one wobbly screw;

I’ve always been in love with you I swear.

New kinds of beauty and the wish to share

These riches were rehearsals, as I knew;

I speak with certainty, for I was there.

These shadow-loves were work-outs to prepare

For this, the main event, that they led to;

I’ve always been in love with you I swear;

I speak with certainty, for I was there.

Leave a Reply

